Author Topic: Looking for my first mechanical keyboard  (Read 2967 times)

Offline AkusScorpion

Looking for my first mechanical keyboard
« on: Wed, 09 November 2011, 12:36:01 »
Hi, so I've been lurking these forums for about a week and having trouble deciding on a keyboard. I've decided on brown switches since I'll be using the keyboard for programming and fps/rts gaming. Full size or TKL does not matter with me but I'm a college student on a very small budget so I'd prefer around $100 which resulted in me narrowing down my choices to a Leopold, Noppoo Choc Pro and a Rosewill RK-9000BR.

I live in California so I'd get taxed on both the Leopold and Rosewill cept the Rosewill seems to go on sale sometimes.

Any suggestions and insight is appreciated.

Offline RetroHollywood

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 09 November 2011, 13:37:11 »
I am currently typing on a Rosewill RK-9000 with blues and I am mostly satisfied with it.  Build quality seems to be very good with one or two exceptions.  I have had issues with some stabilized keys sticking and spacebar squeak, but all of that has been fixed with a $2 can of some generic lubricant.  I got it for $80 from newegg (obviously), and for that price I am pretty pleased.  I say if the browns go on sale for $100 or less, that's a good place to start with an entry level board.

Offline peda

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 09 November 2011, 13:42:09 »
You will be happy with any of these keyboards.

If you can't decide, roll a dice. :-P

Maybe favor the rosewill and the leopold a bit as the support will be a bit easier in the USA.

Offline JustCallMeCrash

• ErgoDox Lover
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 09 November 2011, 15:10:24 »
Don't count out the DAS... with a student discount you can get one for around $100.

By the way, I second the Rosewill.  I got one with Reds and I LOVE it.  Very well constructed board.  Keycaps are kinda meh, but I swapped them out anyway, so no biggie.