Author Topic: Writer just looking for best mechanical keyboard  (Read 13949 times)

Offline Sigurd

Writer just looking for best mechanical keyboard
« on: Sun, 13 October 2013, 20:13:50 »
Hi all.

I'm a writer looking for my perfect keyboard to be purchased in Ontario, Canada.

From my research I think I'm looking for a cherry brown mechanical keyboard with, or without, the number pad.

I'm considering a Das Keyboard or something backlit. There's not a tremendous geek apeal for having no letters but I don't want to type them off the surface either. Letters on the front seem to make sense to me.

Any ideas about sales etc????

What do people suggest?

Offline Linkbane

Re: Writer just looking for best mechanical keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 13 October 2013, 20:47:14 »
I write quite a lot, and I prefer MX Blues myself, but I tried Browns once and thought that they were really nice. Those two are probably the best typing switch, as anything heavier tires out my fingers after typing for extended periods, and it would be pretty pointless to get a keyboard that would limit your writing, hm?

Das makes some good keyboards, the only issue is the glossy surface, which tends to display dust like an exhibit hall. If you want front-printed, their Professional (rather than Ultimate) series is printed.
I saw that you said you might/might not want the numpad, perhaps you might like the Quickfire TK which alternates between a numpad and arrow switches depending on if Num Lock is on or not. If you have the money for the Das and want a full-size, by all means you won't regret it.
Quickfire TK MX Blue Corsair K60 MX Red Ducky Shine 3 Yellow TKL MX Blue Leopold FC660C
Current best: 162 wpm.

Offline Sigurd

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 16 October 2013, 22:16:40 »
Thank you.

I don't see any mechanical keyboards in my local stores so I'm sort of buying blind.

Offline Halverson

• Traitor Supreme
  • GIRLSHARK WIZBRO
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 16 October 2013, 22:19:37 »