Author Topic: Topre Realforce RGB Keyboard  (Read 12116 times)

Offline Tempest790

Topre Realforce RGB Keyboard
« on: Fri, 02 December 2016, 12:16:24 »
My Topre Realforce RGB keyboard came yesterday.  I’ve been setting it up and customizing the RGB layout.

This is my first time typing on a Topre keyboard.  I must say, I really do like it.  I wasn’t sure how I’d feel with the keyboard since I really don’t care for rubber domes.

RGB Backlighting:
The RGB backlighting is nice.  I like backlit keyboards and a full 104 layout, so this keyboard fits for me.  I’ve also had Ducky keyboards (lost those unfortunately) and a Cooler Master Masterkeys Pro L RGB Cherry MX Brown keyboard.  The Realforce RGB lighting is duller and dimmer than the Masterkeys Pro.  Plus, the RGB lighting doesn’t seem to really affect the key color until you’re over 128 (from 0-256) on the color scale.  You also only get 3 profiles on the Realforce instead of 4 for the Masterkeys.  The Caps Lock, Num Lock, and Scroll Lock all stay on whether activated or not.  There are separate red LED indicators between the +4 keys and the numpad.  That will probably take a little getting used to.

The Masterkey allows RGB customization per key direct from the keyboard – no software required (although it’s available).  The Realforce cannot be customized without downloading the software from their website.  Once installed, it will detect the keyboard and allow pretty much unlimited colors.

Topre switches:
Although I’ve only been typing on this a couple of days now, I’m impressed.  Topre switches have a very refined feel to them compared to the Cherry’s MX switches.  The key have softer landing and quick upstroke.  The Cherry MX brown Masterkeys is louder and doesn’t feel as nice as the Topre switches although I still like it.  I’m wondering if Cherry MX Silent switches would compare better to the Topre?