Author Topic: Inspect my soldering work  (Read 2199 times)

Offline jameslr

Inspect my soldering work
« on: Thu, 07 August 2014, 21:16:07 »
Noob at soldering here. Can someone with some experience let me know how I'm doing so far. This is my first soldering job, and I just de-soldered the Function row on my Filco TKL and put MX Clears on it. Here is an image of my work so far:

Does everything look ok?
CM Novatouch | Filco MJ2 TKL w/ HID Lib | REΛLFORCE 87U 55g | CM QFR

Offline heedpantsnow

• * Esteemed Elder
  • Old enough to know better
Re: Inspect my soldering work
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 07 August 2014, 21:24:44 »
Looks good to me, but I'm no expert. Maybe clean up the flux if you want.
I'm back.

Espresso machine overhaul: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=78261.0

Carbon Fiber keyboard base: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=54825

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 07 August 2014, 21:31:42 »
The right leg on F6 and F7 look like they might be cold joints. They don't look like the nice round dome you have in like F8. Other than that concern, looks pretty good :)

Offline HoffmanMyster

• HOFF, smol MAN OF MYSTERY
  • * Senior Moderator
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 07 August 2014, 21:33:16 »
Those solder joints will be functionally sound, so from that perspective they are fine.

If you want to improve, I would recommend using less solder on the switch leads.  IMO, the one two from the left is the best.  You typically want that concave look.  If it's bulging, you could use less solder for a cleaner joint.  If you had really dull looking bulges that didn't connect well with the PCB, they would be cold solder joints.  Those are what you definitely want to avoid, and should fix immediately.  In every case I can think of, too much solder isn't necessarily *bad*, it's just excessive.