Author Topic: Cherry ML switch based keyboards  (Read 19764 times)

Offline craig

Cherry ML switch based keyboards
« on: Wed, 05 August 2009, 14:56:05 »
I'm a programmer, looking for a new keyboard.  I've been reading through a lot of the reviews here and on other websites, learning about the various switch differences, etc.

What I'd like to find is a keyboard with a lower profile than the Filco Otaku, Das Keyboard, Cherry, etc.  I saw that Cherry makes the ML series low profile 2mm mechanical switch and briefly had my hopes raised.  After spending a some time with google, I've been unable to find a keyboard that has these switches.  Anyone know of one?

Or more generally, does anyone have any recomendations on keyboards that come close to my "dream" keyboard feature list?  I didn't see anything in the keyboard list, and none with the Cherry ML switches.  My ideal would have the following characteristics:

- Low profile:  No wrist-wrest required.  Arms/palms wrest on desk.
- If flat enough, back rows don't need to be elevated (like a laptop keyboard)
- Mechanical switches:  tactal non-clicky, low profile (E.g. Cherry ML)
- Full size arrow keys in an inverted T layout
- Slightly contoured rows such that the outside edges of each row curve towards the function keys in sort of a smile shape.
- Black w/ little to no writing/labels
- 87 key (can live with 104 key)

Optional, but nice to have
- Possibly backlit
- USB ports
- Vol Up/Down/mute - Don't use any other media keys.
- Bluetooth

Thanks for the help and feedback.  After a dozen or more keyboards, I'm looking forward to getting a good one that I'll have for years.  Right now, I'm looking at the Filco Otaku, but the high profile has me concerned.
« Last Edit: Wed, 05 August 2009, 14:58:45 by craig »

Offline Rajagra

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 05 August 2009, 15:15:27 »
You could do worse than try a ML-4100 (G84-4100). They have ML switches and can often be found cheap.