Author Topic: Trying *nix again  (Read 18028 times)

Offline Oqsy

Trying *nix again
« on: Sun, 11 July 2010, 00:37:47 »
Ok, I have quite a bit of free space and I'm considering a dual boot system to play around with a linux distro.  Right now I'm downloading the .iso for mint, ubuntu, debian (several flavors), and openSUSE.  

I've got some linux experience, but it's been years and I've all but forgotten it, so I'll be starting from scratch essentially.  I used a RedHat distro back YEARS ago exclusively for a few months when I was on a militant anti-windows kick.  Unfortunately once I went back to windows, I dropped linux cold-turkey and have felt guilty about it ever since ;)

Is there anyone here that's jumped into linux recently that would like to share the experience?  I don't know anyone personally that uses linux for any purpose whatsoever, so I'll kind of be out on a limb here, and would love someone to message occasionally (or frequently depending on your situation) to get some feedback and direction.

I was always able to find answers to my questions before by googling, etc., but I find I do best at new things when having conversations about it, not just reading other people's directions.  

Anyway, I'll be narrowing down which distro I prefer sometime in the next week or so, and then I'll be ready to start the adventure :D
[sigpic]Currently in use: Rosewill RK9000 and CH DT225[/sigpic]
"Private misfortunes make for public welfare."

Offline vyshane

Trying *nix again
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 11 July 2010, 01:39:55 »
Since you've already used Linux years ago, it should be pretty easy for you this time around. The main thing is to keep an open mind and not to expect a unix system to behave like Windows. Once you've accepted this, you'll be able to get productive instead of fighting the system. 90% of your initial complaints towards Linux will likely fall into the "it's not Windows" category.