Author Topic: New to it all.  (Read 1095 times)

Offline olijuice

New to it all.
« on: Fri, 01 May 2015, 21:16:12 »
Hi everyone!  I am extremely new to the world of mechanical keyboards and the communities.  Just saying hello!  about 3 weeks ago I had never typed on a mechanical keyboard but I was really interested in one as I was tired of typing on a 5 year old Logitech wireless keyboard at work.  I've been doing my research on various switches and I decided I liked the Leopold FC660C Topre so I bought one about 2 weeks ago.  I've been using it for about a week now at the office and I really enjoy it.  I also bought a Corsair Vengeance K65 to use at home but I am still waiting on that to arrive.   I like the smaller keyboards because I can keep it better centered and close to my mouse.

Now my new mission is to figure out how to customize my Topre!  I knew it would be more difficult than buying Cherry MX switches but I just really liked the look of the Leopold and maybe eventually I will find some cool keycaps for it.

Offline Ludovician

Re: New to it all.
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 02 May 2015, 02:24:01 »
Welcome.

There are a few custom Topre keycaps around, but there's nowhere near as much available as there is for Cherry, as you seem to have noticed. If you feel like putting in some effort to make the board sound quieter (less clacking on the upstroke), you can check out spiceBar's silencing mod.

Going straight to Topre was a bold move. Glad you're enjoying it though.
Typing speed:
More
Visit the Typing Test and try!

My collection:
More