Author Topic: Penumbra, SA Pulse, Dolch copies?  (Read 4286 times)

Offline jwsmite

Penumbra, SA Pulse, Dolch copies?
« on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 05:12:05 »
Hi,

I'm pretty new to this but I've found a few keycap sets that I really like, Penumbra, SA Pulse, Dolch, Danger Zone, SA 1965. But they're all unavailable. Can't we just do a group buy with the same (or similar) guidelines and do a rip off, if they aren't selling them anymore then it can't be said that we're taking any business away.

I was also thinking of doing my own designs but inspired by the BBC Micro keycap set, are there any copyright things that I should worry about? using the original font or logo?

What do people think, has this been done before?

Offline dgneo

• Supervillain
  • * Curator
Re: Penumbra, SA Pulse, Dolch copies?
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 05:19:30 »
Hi,

I'm pretty new to this but I've found a few keycap sets that I really like, Penumbra, SA Pulse, Dolch, Danger Zone, SA 1965. But they're all unavailable. Can't we just do a group buy with the same (or similar) guidelines and do a rip off, if they aren't selling them anymore then it can't be said that we're taking any business away.

I was also thinking of doing my own designs but inspired by the BBC Micro keycap set, are there any copyright things that I should worry about? using the original font or logo?

What do people think, has this been done before?

It's been tried, and failed on multiple occasions.

Your best bet is to keep an eye on Classifieds and/or MechMarket, and pick up a set there. Penumbra will be expensive, if you can find it. Pulse pops up somewhat frequently, I've seen a couple DZ sets, and a few 1965s as well. Just need patience.

Offline justinmtype

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 09:03:52 »

Offline merlin64

• MechMerlin
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 09 March 2017, 09:40:51 »
Dolch is currently running, and you have one day to put in your order! It closes tomorrow!

Offline zslane