Author Topic: Using a generic RJ-11 foot switch with a Kinesis Advantage  (Read 8934 times)

Offline incrediblemath

Using a generic RJ-11 foot switch with a Kinesis Advantage
« on: Wed, 11 January 2012, 14:15:49 »
(Apologies in advance for the cross-post, but it looks like most of the Kinesis folks with foot switches hang out in this forum. If there is a mod I can contact to have threads moved instead of re-posted in the future, let me know)

I've been reading through a number of the Kinesis Contoured/Advantage threads here... quite the amazing resource!

So, long story short, I've been using a standard Advantage USB for over 6 years, best investment I've ever made. However, now that I'm learning how to program, I am pinky-reaching a lot more often for the Shift key and various symbols/brackets. I've already mapped some of them to the thumb keys, but I'd really like to get a foot switch for Shift, as well as easy access to the second logical keyboard layer.

I've seen a few posts here and elsewhere about people using run-of-the-mill RJ-11 foot switches, which are significantly cheaper than the triple-action Kinesis model (I'd rather save the money and put it toward that mysterious cherry/LF Advantage model). However, I've seen some examples where rewiring is required to get these 3rd-party switches to work. I don't want to accidentally break my trusty (and expensive) 6-year old keyboard, so I wanted to consult the knowledgeable hackers here first to get an idea of what might work or what might not.

The Dictaphone IN-765 and its generic equivalents seem to be the most widely-available option. Is this model wired so that I can just hook it into the RJ-11 port of the Kinesis and be off to the races, or will some rewiring be required?

Thanks for any insight you can provide! :)

Offline kps

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 11 January 2012, 15:20:40 »
I remember seeing your previous post. I suspect no one here knows the pinout of a Dictaphone switch.

Offline incrediblemath