Author Topic: what do you think about ergo boards?  (Read 1118 times)

Offline bkgrnd

• anything smaller than 40% is weird
what do you think about ergo boards?
« on: Mon, 11 March 2024, 14:06:22 »
ever since i saw the corne, scotto34 and the dactyl manuform ive wanted to make my own ergo board, so the hhkb handwired weirdness will wait. i want to make something with a layout similar to that of a scotto34 and corne, smooshed together. if you own an ergo board, or have made/used one in the past, id like to hear your opinion on it, layout and stuff like that. im still learning, my designing skills are those of a toddler, and i dont own a 3d printer yet so i cant really start making a case, nor do i have the parts like diodes and thick copper wire. any insight on ergo layouts will be highly appreciated.
current layout im thinking of is something like 3 rows of 6 keys and 1 row of 7 keys for both halves, and i do not like column stagger, because it just looks and feels weird to me, im sure after being even more obsessed with ergo boards ill give in and make a column stagger split handwired keyboard.
  thank you for reading, dear traveler

Online Findecanor

Re: what do you think about ergo boards?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 11 March 2024, 14:20:45 »
I see that you are not a capitalist.

Offline Rhienfo

• Why is everything I want here so expensive :(
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 11 March 2024, 21:42:45 »
I've used an alice board, and it was really comfortable to type on, and probably better for your wrists. Would recommend everyone try out a ergo/alice.
fjell | hhkb bt

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 12 March 2024, 06:59:28 »
Even if you ignore the 3d printer cost, building one isn't free and you still need all of the other things to make a keyboard work.