Author Topic: Keyboard for Grad Student???  (Read 1901 times)

Offline robn311

Keyboard for Grad Student???
« on: Thu, 03 May 2012, 14:31:23 »
Hi all, this is my first post here, so go easy on me!

I just recently realized the benefits and joy of typing on a solid keyboard.  I am a graduate student beginning my dissertation, and also do some creative writing on the side, so I spend a lot of time typing. I don't play games at all, so I'm looking for strictly a solid writing keyboard to get me through the dissertation. I have a Model M (1994 Lexmark) and I love it. But it's too loud for working at night in my apartment, which is shared with my girlfriend. So I am looking for something that has a nice tactile feel but isn't quite as loud as the Model M. So I'm thinking I should go for either Cherry MX Brown or Blue switches.

Being a student, I have a very limited budget, around $80. And I would like to buy new/manufacturer refurbished so I can get a warranty. So here's what I'm considering:

Das Keyboard Professional (regular or silent, not sure which yet) - can get refurbished with student discount for ~$80.
Razer Blackwidow - ~$70
Adesso MKB135 - ~$80

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Offline thegunner100

• (╯'□')╯︵</3 ノ( '-'ノ)
    • The Emotional Skyscraper
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 03 May 2012, 14:38:43 »
You can get a cm quickfire mx blues for $75 shipped from superbiiz or a mx brown for $78 + $9 shipping from mechanicalkeyboards.com. Great quality for the price, much better than the adesso or BW unless you really need the number pad.
Input Devices:CM QF Rapidx2 ~ REALFORCE 87uw 45/55g ~ Logitech G5v2 ~ Wacom Bamboo CTH-460

Audio Setup: look me up on head-fi
Check out my blog on touhou/doujin music, audiophile gear, and doujin games!

Offline robn311

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 03 May 2012, 14:42:05 »
Thanks, though I should have mentioned, I really do want the number pad. I do a lot of data entry, and so the number pad is near-essential.