Author Topic: Any of you do hand-painted keycap customization?  (Read 2592 times)

Offline Lunatique

• Writer, Composer, Artist, Photographer, Gamer
Any of you do hand-painted keycap customization?
« on: Sun, 07 December 2014, 18:03:53 »
Have any of you artistic types tried to do hand-painted keycap customization? For example, using acrylic paint, enamel paint, nail polish, oil-based waterproof markers, etc to highlight specific keycaps by painting a border rim around the top face, or make the legend bolder/different color, etc. You can even get really creative and paint images onto the keyboard's frame or on the keycaps. A protective coating could seal the paint and make it more permanent, and if it eventually wears off, you could just touch it up.

I've been painting my keyboards for a few years now, and I started doing it because I wanted to make certain keys more obvious, and I didn't know anything about the keyboard community and all the customization options, so I just tried to DIY according to my needs. Now that I know there are custom keycaps I can buy, I'm a lot less inclined to do hand-painted customization, since it's so time-consuming and it's difficult to make it look perfect. But for rare cases where the commercial options are not ideal or too expensive, I might still do it from time to time to make certain keys more obvious in dim light or just quicker to find when doing critical work.

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy
Re: Any of you do hand-painted keycap customization?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 07 December 2014, 19:15:48 »
Mandolin has done some great work.

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=65333.0
"The Trump campaign announced in a letter that Republican candidates and committees are now expected to pay “a minimum of 5% of all fundraising solicitations to Trump National Committee JFC” for using his “name, image, and likeness in fundraising solicitations.”