Author Topic: [HELP] Need some advice on painting  (Read 3140 times)

Offline JunkFace

[HELP] Need some advice on painting
« on: Sun, 11 May 2014, 22:22:32 »
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the keyboard modding community but I really want to get my feet wet so I decided to paint my recently aquired QFR.

I did the thumb breaking labor  and got a really even coating.  Probably did about 4 or 5 and waited around half an hour for them to dry between coats. 

I really hate shiny stuff on my desk so opted for some matte finish paint, I haven't used the clear coat or blue on anything yet, but I'll want to put a coat of the clear stuff on after we get this all sorted out.

Here is what I've got painted so far, my issue is even though I waited the paint may not have been dry and it still feels sticky almost a day later.  Now it has been raining a lot the past few days and I'm thinking that might be slowing the curing process (it's been repressively humid), the other thing it could be is I got some janky paint. 

Im not sure if anyone has any experience with that paint and whether or not I should be running into any issues with it.  I currently have it all sitting in my laundry room (which ironically is the least humid room in my place right now).

Anyway what should I expect?  This stuff should be hard as a rock right?
« Last Edit: Fri, 16 May 2014, 21:45:00 by JunkFace »

Offline geniekid

Re: [HELP] Need some advice on painting
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 12 May 2014, 09:19:14 »
On the back of the cans I use it says not to paint with humidity over 85%.  It also says it takes 48 hours to dry completely.  I don't know what it says on the back of your can, but if you're painting in high humidity conditions it's possible your paint will take days to dry.

Even when it's fully dried, do not expect it to be "hard as rock".  The clear coat is supposed to be the hard layer but it's not going to make your case bullet proof.  Don't throw the case into a box full of kittens or anything :))