Author Topic: Topre dilemma  (Read 3736 times)

Offline xtrc

Topre dilemma
« on: Fri, 31 January 2020, 07:59:41 »
Hello everyone!

I'm looking for a new keyboard to purchase besides the HHKB Type-S which I own currently. I work in an open office and figured getting a silent version would be a no brainer.

However, I think I rather own a non-silent topre keyboard (It's not that much louder so I think my colleagues wouldn't mind anyway).

I've also disliked the sound of the Type-S as compared to non-silent versions. It sounds sandy/scratchy and less crispy. I'm not that good at explaining this kind of stuff but I've found this comparison for the HHKB which clearly shows the difference between the TYPE-S and Normal version of the HHKB.

I'll be carrying the keyboard from home to work on a daily basis but I could fit a TKL in my bag without an issue. I'm thinking of the following keyboards right now but aren't 100% sure yet.

HHKB Pro 2 (non-silent version) perhaps the Hybrid while I'm at it.

Topre Realforce 87UB 55GB.

Offline nmur

• ಠ_ಠ
Re: Topre dilemma
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 31 January 2020, 08:23:03 »
Have you considered lubing? I swear by it for topre - it really does rid the friction from the sliders, if done well.

Offline xtrc

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 31 January 2020, 08:44:59 »
Have you considered lubing? I swear by it for topre - it really does rid the friction from the sliders, if done well.

To be honest. No, I haven't. I'm not sure if I want to either as I don't want to fiddle too much with the internals. Does it make a lot of difference?

Offline lolafineday

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 31 January 2020, 09:31:02 »

To be honest. No, I haven't. I'm not sure if I want to either as I don't want to fiddle too much with the internals. Does it make a lot of difference?
Yea the difference is crazy with the stabilizers.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Offline Polymer

« Reply #4 on: Fri, 31 January 2020, 09:31:06 »