Author Topic: [NOOB Alert] first 60% build - own case  (Read 4443 times)

Offline mcarni

[NOOB Alert] first 60% build - own case
« on: Mon, 28 May 2018, 02:41:30 »
guys,

I am planning my first build, I know it will be a 60%, I think I found most of the components (pcb, switches, plate & keycaps...)
Regarding layout / layers I am still studying the forums and the documentation on QMK so I do not want to bother you with questions at the moment...might come later, but now I do not feel ready...

On the other side, since I decided to make my own case, I would like to ask you for a couple of info.
I have some wood lying around so my plan is to do something with that (pictures will come if the end results is not too bad...)
I am not sure of what the height of the case should be.
I see that there are cases that let the switches exposed (or at least partially exposed) and cases that are higher and that show only the keycaps exposed.
Is the choice between the two options driven by the look or is there any practical reason to choose one or the other?

I would like to understand how high the sides of the case should be.
I tried to look but I could not find it, is there a schematic or a drawing of what is the typical height from the top face of the pcb and the bottom of the keycaps? Or is it maybe better to say from the top face of the pcb to the top face of the mounting plate?

I am assuming that these dimensions will be driven by the height of the cherry (or clones) switches and the height of the keycaps...
I understand that this depends on the different keycaps profile, I am thinking of xda caps if this helps...

thanks for your help

M

Offline Sup

• * Exquisite Elder
  • Doing university was a mistake
Re: [NOOB Alert] first 60% build - own case
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 28 May 2018, 04:12:18 »