Author Topic: [Help] New build key not registering  (Read 1910 times)

Offline junio13

[Help] New build key not registering
« on: Thu, 11 October 2018, 15:51:45 »
Hi! I'm new in mech keebs and this is happening with my pcb.
The pcb was ok before soldering the switches. Now the keys Y, U, I, O, P, {, }, | stopped working. When I short the Y with T, it register the Y (same occurs for the other keys). How can I fix that?
Thanks in advance!

« Last Edit: Thu, 11 October 2018, 19:14:04 by junio13 »

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: [Help] New build key not registering
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 11 October 2018, 16:13:46 »
Sounds like there's a break in the matrix and you're only one jumper wire away from a working board.  Unfortunately I can't make out in your pictures which switch pins are connected to the diodes or whether the diodes are connected across the rows or down the columns - any chance of a picture from a slight angle with flash so they show up better?
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline junio13

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 11 October 2018, 19:33:48 »
Is these any better? I have only my j7 pro camera :(
« Last Edit: Thu, 11 October 2018, 19:36:47 by junio13 »

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 12 October 2018, 05:29:13 »
Not great but better - white boards are the worst for taking pics.

Looks like the diodes are connected across the rows like this - can you see a similar pattern on the row that's broken?  Red is switch to diode, orange is the diodes connecting to each other.

205310-0

If it is the same it sounds like there's a break between the diodes for T and Y - this is a strange place to get a break as it's usually a lifted pad on a switch, but if it works it works...

If not what PCB is it?  Maybe there are clues in the firmware.
« Last Edit: Fri, 12 October 2018, 05:30:57 by suicidal_orange »
GMK Hyperfuse
MX Clear