Author Topic: Full size RK9000 to TKL mod log  (Read 4345 times)

Offline bovineblitz

Full size RK9000 to TKL mod log
« on: Sat, 13 June 2015, 14:33:41 »
I've been typing on Das keyboards with browns for years but I'm pretty new to messing around with keyboards, building things that look decent, and even soldering in general, so keep that in mind in this thread.  My big goal is to wind up with something functional and reasonably good looking, I'm not too worried if it has some character in the end.  So, the story is that I acquired an RK9000 from a family member that succumbed to the USB port issue.  Naturally I took it apart to resolder, but there was all this dark green goop in the way and a couple of the ring terminals weren't even in place.  I tried to hardwire it, but could not for the life of me get a computer to recognize the keyboard, even after checking traces and jumping over a loose LED.  After a few frustrating days of trying to fix it, I decided it's dead, and at least I have some really nice brown switches I can save.

Being recently bitten by the mech bug, I've been eyeing TKL boards for my limited space at work.  Then I had an epiphany - why not slice up the Rosewill plate and try to make my own?  I'd been intrigued by the idea of building something custom, and here's my chance to give it a shot without too much financial investment (ha, right...).  Plus, the red plate is pretty nice and will look pretty slick with those Gateron dark gray/beige caps that have been tempting me for a couple weeks now...

I started some of the work before joining GH, so here's the current state of affairs:

Desoldering was a bit easier than I'd thought, and it feels pretty cool to have a big cupful of switches laying around, haha.  New experience for me.