Author Topic: A Noob's Trials with Capcraft - (1st) Small Sale this week!  (Read 5874 times)

Offline Reigning Hell

• Forever Fiending 4 a V2
16 June 2016

INTRO

Yo, wassup guys. Let me start with a short lil intro. I've been here since August of last year, and what really got me into the community were the artisan caps on here. I took a sculpting class my freshman year of college ~ 3 years ago, so I have some experience with mold making and sculpting.
Originally, I bought sculpting stuff to make some keycap(s), but was swamped with school last semester. It's summer now, and I'm just chillin at home playing OW, so I decided to buy mold and resin material. I know there are a ton of other guides out there, with definite better quality and more experience; hopefully my noob experiments are something others can follow for their own first time :) If anything, this will be a log of my steps to make resin-casted sculpts. I'll be glad to answer any questions as best as I can using my experience, so feel free to ask! LEGGO!

WHAT IS DA BOY MAKING?

Since I'm not doing sculpting anymore on the caps, trying to skip a step for my initial trials, I used 2 plain PBT Cherry-profile caps. I wanted to take a leap and go for an actual project for this, so I plan on making a QWER/DF set since I feed on League all day every day. So 2 keys, one r2 and another r3.

MAKING THE 2-PART MOLD

The rubber material used to make the mold can be seen above on the left ^. To begin, I started with these cardboard cylindrical boxes bought at Hobby Lobby. These are the moldboxes.

I put a flat layer of plasticine on the bottom of the moldboxes so the keycaps are firm on the bottom - apply some pressure. After that, just mix your 2-part rubber material following the instructions provided. Before pouring, I let the mixture sit for 4 minutes so gas could rise. I filled to about an inch above the cap.