Author Topic: Modding HHKB to 55g and novatouch hybrid stems.  (Read 5102 times)

Offline illitirit

Modding HHKB to 55g and novatouch hybrid stems.
« on: Mon, 27 April 2015, 19:26:33 »
So I have decided that I am going to do what is probably considered insane to alot of people but I just cant live knowing that my unicorn is out there and not in my hands.

I want a HHKB pro 2 with 55g switches, as well as the cherry compatible stems from a novatouch.

My question is, for a keyboard noob, how hard would this be to accomplish?

I currently already have a 87u 55g uniform.  I already purchased an HHKB and I am waiting for it in the post.  The novatouch I would try to get used.

I have never done keyboard modding before so I just want to double check that this setup is in fact possible.

I know alot of people have 55g HHKB.  But what about the novatouch stems?  Are all the keys hot-swappable into the HHKB?  Even the stabilizers?  Would it be as easy as just taking the stems and popping it into the HHKB?

Thanks for any replies.

Offline Joey Quinn

• "..."
Re: Modding HHKB to 55g and novatouch hybrid stems.
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 27 April 2015, 19:32:48 »
Yeah, swapping in the stems is that easy but IIRC there is something you have to do to stabilized keys.
People in the 1980s, in general, were clearly just better than we are now in every measurable way.

The dumber the reason the more it must be done

Offline joey

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 28 April 2015, 04:47:26 »
I'm interested in seeing a detailed how-to / log for this! (I don't have a HHKB or Novatouch.. but you never know!)

Offline illitirit

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 28 April 2015, 05:23:57 »
I'm interested in seeing a detailed how-to / log for this! (I don't have a HHKB or Novatouch.. but you never know!)

welp , i purchased everything needed.  Including lube.

I have never done any keyboard modding before so this will probably be pretty painful for me.  But I hope I dont break anything.

Will report back with my experiences.