Author Topic: Where is everyone getting their microcontrollers from?  (Read 2463 times)

Offline zestynorsegod

Where is everyone getting their microcontrollers from?
« on: Mon, 16 August 2021, 15:33:20 »
 Hello all! I'm pretty new to the DIY keyboard scene, and I have decided I want to go the hard route of making a board from scratch. The biggest issue I've been running into is what MCU I should use for my project, and where to get it. I've seen a lot of guides using the atmega32u4, and I've looked into some of the stm32 chips as well. Unfortunately, everything I look at is completely sold out, and from what I can tell, this has been an ongoing issue for a while. For those of you who are more experienced and/or know what you're doing (I sure don't lol), how have you been getting around the shortages? Do I not know where to look, or does everyone else just have a supply of chips from previous projects? I apologize if this comes off as ignorant or annoying, I just can't seem to find the answer myself anywhere I look. Any help you can give me is much appreciated.

Offline Tactile

Re: Where is everyone getting their microcontrollers from?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 16 August 2021, 15:41:56 »
The Teensy is in stock. If you'd rather roll your own, Digi-Key have 32U4 in stock.
« Last Edit: Mon, 16 August 2021, 15:49:20 by Tactile »
REΛLFORCE

Offline Findecanor

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 16 August 2021, 16:03:32 »
I've heard from other places that microcontrollers are sold out at many electronic component vendors. Hopefully this won't last too long.

If I were you, I would choose a microcontroller that has good support first by the firmware you are planning to use, and then which can interface any other chips that you might use with minimal complexity.