Author Topic: Questions *before* I buy my first mechanical...  (Read 2076 times)

Offline ogmios

Questions *before* I buy my first mechanical...
« on: Sun, 07 August 2011, 01:59:44 »
The time has finally come for me to get a new keyboard, and I'm going to take the dive into the world of mechanicals.  I just had a quick question or two before I pull the trigger:

I'm a college student on a budget, so price matters - but I don't want to buy something shoddy just because it was a few bucks cheaper.  I haven't really made up my mind on the tenkeyless boards, I've always had a numpad and use it for basically any series of numbers longer than 3 or 4, although I honestly don't use it more than once a day, on average.  

So, I'm thinking that the Cherry MX Blue's would suit me well.  I'll be primarily typing, with perhaps a little spurt of gaming here and there (rarely enough that it's not a big factor).  I've listened to audio samples of the blue's, but can't really get a good feel for how loud they are.  Are they going to be annoying to someone sleeping down the hallway at night?  

Up to this point I've been primarily looking at the Das Ultimate, it was recommended by an online pal or two, although reading opinions here I've heard things both ways...  With the student discount, it's something within my price range though, and seems not to be too cheaply made as to fall apart quickly (like the m10 I almost bought before reading up here).

So the big question - are there any Cherry MX Blue keyboards, around the price point of the Das, that have the same quality, and have the blank keys?  I'm probably being a little juvenile, but I really want blank keys, and would rather not pay extra on top of the cost of the board.  If there are, I'd love to know...  If not, I guess I'll end up getting the Das - whenever I buy stuff I always do a bunch of research first, and figured I'd ask before I spend what, to me, is a decent chunk of change.

Thanks for the help guys.