Author Topic: Any advice for Model F RFI Sensitivity Issues?  (Read 3528 times)

Offline ekeppel

Any advice for Model F RFI Sensitivity Issues?
« on: Wed, 23 November 2016, 06:35:18 »
Hi All,

I've had my Model F XT keyboard in the rotation recently, and this morning I noticed that I've run into RFI issues with it.  I'm a ham radio operator and use the radio many mornings for about 30 minutes, putting out around 1200 watts while transmitting.  Due to the proximity of my antenna system directly above the house, there is of course a good deal of RFI that gets into my office when transmitting.

It's been perfectly manageable with more modern non-capacitive keyboards, but with the Model F, key presses are triggered randomly when I transmit.  I fired up the keyboard testing utility and noticed that the issue seems to affect primarily the top row keys on the keyboard, but I haven't done extensive testing.

This keyboard has a Pro Micro installed internally running Soarer's Converter with a USB cable replacing the old curly cable. 

No matter what I try, I seem to still get RFI triggering keys when transmitting.  Ordinarily, my PC is off while I'm on the radio, so it shouldn't be a problem, except for the fact that I like to have my PC set to wake on keypress, lol.  Unfortunately, this means that the moment I start transmitting, the PC turns on, which I really would like to prevent.

I've done the following so far:

--Various combinations of ferrite chokes on the USB cable
--Added a grounding wire from the XT PCB test pad over to the ground lug on the metal case back
--Wrapped the Soarer's Converter in foil

Nothing seems to be really working, so I thought I would throw this out there and see if anyone else in the community has had a similar issue and found a reliable solution.  One thing I have not done yet is to add a ground wire from the Pro Micro USB shield to the metal case back, so I may try that next unless anyone has some other suggestions.