Author Topic: What to expect from SA profile?  (Read 8054 times)

Offline kasakka

What to expect from SA profile?
« on: Mon, 27 March 2017, 11:58:43 »
I'm really interested in getting a Maxkey SA set as I like the colors but I've never used SA keycaps before. I am using a GH60 with Zealio R3 65g, Pok3r with MX browns and in the future will have the Ultimate Hacking Keyboard when it gets released. Since the options for nice cyan or magenta keycaps are few (and really expensive like GMK Cyan), the Maxkey SA seems like a fair deal to me.

However what should I expect from the SA profile? Pros and cons? I have never used it and all my keyboards use OEM or Cherry profile keycaps. Currently using JT Royal Purple on my GH60.

Offline wishful_cynic

Re: What to expect from SA profile?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 27 March 2017, 12:02:44 »
You could buy 1 or a few SA caps to try before you buy a whole set and see how you like them.  They're tall.  They're generally pretty smooth.  It all comes down to your preference.  I'd recommend either buying one or more to test or buy a set that isn't too funky to quickly resell if you don't like it.

Offline zslane

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 27 March 2017, 12:05:50 »
Well, compared to OEM/Cherry, they are very tall and glossy smooth. And because they are so tall, any inherent wobble in your switch of choice will be slightly amplified. And then there's the spherical top, which presents a slightly reduced surface area for your finger tips. Many folks can't get used to these things and so they stay away from SA.

I absolutely love the aesthetics of SA, and even though it took a little bit of getting used to, SA quickly became my prefered keycap family.

Offline Puddsy

• nice
  • * Elated Elder
  • "Do you shovel to survive, or survive to shovel?"
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 27 March 2017, 14:22:46 »
height and discomfort

cylindrical profiles for life