Author Topic: Swapping LEDs between two keyboards  (Read 2619 times)

Offline crookie

Swapping LEDs between two keyboards
« on: Tue, 16 May 2017, 20:37:37 »
Hello, I'm new here, but I would like to get some opinions from you geeks if this project I'm planning is realizable.
I have two no-name mechanical keyboards with Outemu red switches. I would like to swap the leds because I like the faceplate on the one that's mixed light, but it doesn't fit as they have different dimensions.

1. Mixed leds (each row 1 color) which I would like to keep for the metal faceplate and transfer the leds from the other
2. RGB leds but looks ugly to me.

I'm a noob obviously, but my main concern is that even if I manage to succesfully swap the leds (I have the tools necessary) the chip that controls the color modes won't show the rgb lights since it's programmed for mixed. Or could I swap that too?

Edit: Green is mixed, red is RGB
« Last Edit: Wed, 17 May 2017, 05:29:37 by crookie »

Offline crookie

Re: Swapping LEDs between two keyboards
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 18 May 2017, 07:17:05 »
come on guys, seriously? no one?

Offline TalkingTree

• My projects
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 18 May 2017, 07:33:32 »
Hi and welcome.

Know that both PCBs have SMD LEDs so, in order to reach them, you'd need to desolder all the switches and remove the faceplates. You can tell that by the fact the there's no sign of LEDs on the back of the PCBs (which is the side you're showing in your pictures). Also, both most likely have RGB LEDs which are lit to a different colour by the firmware.
In other words, swapping LEDs, will do nothing. To achieve different backlighting patterns you'll have to modify the firmware, but I highly doubt its source is available to end users.
My opensource projects: GH80-3000, TOAD, XMMX. Classified: stuff

Offline crookie

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 18 May 2017, 08:14:51 »