Author Topic: Dream Keyboard Project  (Read 3550 times)

Offline foodz

• I make hardware frankensteins.
Dream Keyboard Project
« on: Mon, 02 March 2015, 11:09:54 »
foodz's dream keyboard project

Hiya there everyone; I've been a lurker for a long time and I've finally decided I'd love to become a active member of the community.
My day to day job I am a web developer; however, I've been hacking together hardware in my spare time for years and I've finally decided to document my latest.
The hardware goals of this project may seem like a strech but my goal is to try to meet them; go big or go home.

Project Status:Planning
Project Github: Project Github Page

Hardware Goals:
  • USB Connection
  • Bluetooth Connection
  • Display (Planning a 16x2 LCD)
  • USB Hub
  • Internal flash drive style storage

Software Goals:
  • Web Interface (Layer management, hotkeys, macros, etc)
  • Password Management
  • Smartphone Integration
  • Keyboard Statistics

Components:
Main Controller: Teensy++ 2.0 USB Development Board
I/O & Functionality Expansion: Arduino Pro Mini

This may be my dream keyboard; but if you'd like to suggest any other crazy ideas.. I'd love to hear them, discuss them, potentially try to add them in.

More to come soon.
Degadega.

Offline foodz

Re: Dream Keyboard Project
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 02 March 2015, 11:10:54 »
reserved for later <3
Degadega.

Offline jacobolus

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 02 March 2015, 14:45:04 »
Welcome to geekhack. Those hardware goals seem quite achievable to me, though note that for a wireless keyboard you’re going to need to add batteries (and if they’re rechargeable, some infrastructure for charging them). Also, interfacing with existing bluetooth stuff might be a pain. The hardest part is probably figuring out what you want the screen to do.

Offline foodz

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 02 March 2015, 15:23:41 »