Author Topic: How Often Do You Perform a Clean Installation of Windows?  (Read 11747 times)

Offline Kavik

How Often Do You Perform a Clean Installation of Windows?
« on: Tue, 19 January 2021, 11:06:09 »
How often do you wipe your C drive, reinstall Windows, and then transfer your backed up files back to your computer (AKA wipe and reload)? I used to do this on my old computer any time something weird started happening, a few times per year. Since building my current PC in 2013, I've reinstalled only once, and that was after a drive got toasted in the computer's first month of life before I had a backup image. So I've been running the same installation since 2013, which started as Windows 7 and was upgraded to Windows 10 in 2016. This is partly because of laziness and partly to test how long I could go without a wipe and reload.

I think it may be time to do a clean installation of Windows 10 (after making a backup image of course) just to see if it fixes any of the weird issues that crop up from time to time. Although, since my C drive is now an SSD, I suppose I can skip the "wipe" step.
Maybe they're waiting for gasmasks and latex to get sexy again.

The world has become a weird place.

Offline Darthbaggins

• PC Cannibal
Re: How Often Do You Perform a Clean Installation of Windows?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 19 January 2021, 11:16:38 »
on the re-install I would hit shift+F10, run Diskpart and tell it to Clean the OS drive (then exit, exit) - then do a fresh install, that way no remnants of the old OS are on the drive prior to full install.  Also update your install media with the MSFT w10 media creation tool (prevents having to do a huge amount of updates).
I know I need to do a fresh install soon on my main rig and need to swap some media and game drives over to larger drives/backup to clear up some space on my SSD based game and work/scratch array.
« Last Edit: Tue, 19 January 2021, 11:18:18 by Darthbaggins »