geekhack Community > Ergonomics

Recommendations for small hands?

(1/2) > >>

Charlotte_Corday:
As the title says, I am trying to pick an ergo board that will be comfortable for my tiny hands! I will be using it primarily for typing and coding, but maybe also some gaming (I'm too lazy to get out a different keyboard).

I am currently using a TKL Filco keyboard with silent red switches, which has a traditional staggered layout. I loved my current board when I bought it a few years ago, and it has withstood a lot of daily use for work, but I have now been tempted by the benefits of ergonomic layouts and programmability.

Weird layouts and multiple layers for different purposes are ok - I am a pianist so very happy to learn new key layouts etc.

I would ideally prefer the following features, but I'm open to suggestions that don't meet these:

* Orthogonal
* Split
* Easily programmable
* Small enough to not take up my entire desk!
* Available either pre-assembled or hot swap PCB (I'm not really interested in getting into soldering)

nevin:
being hotswap does limit the choices
- corne
- lily 58 pro
- keeb.io iris (not hotswap but really worth a look)
- some ergodox variants - hotdox, ergodox-ez, moonlander, etc...

also check http://xahlee.info/kbd/ergonomic_keyboards_index.html
great resource
specifically the diy section: http://xahlee.info/kbd/diy_keyboards_index.html

xudongz: