Author Topic: Greetings from Australia!  (Read 791 times)

Offline Sammagoat

• Baaaaa.
Greetings from Australia!
« on: Thu, 11 March 2021, 03:44:41 »
Hey everyone!

I'm Sam, and I'm a 26yo professional procrastinator from Australia. Thanks to my nerd of a father, I've grown up with tech around all my life. I was lucky enough to have my first computer at the ripe old age of 7, running Windows 98! Man I miss those good ol' days, and man do I wish I'd kept my Compaq rollerball mouse...

I've since built a few of my own computers, most recently last year. As I've brushed up against the 'gaming' community I've come to learn about commercially-available mechanical keyboards, and lately I've been on a real kick with researching into customs. With the recent acquisition of a full-time desk job, I also see the potential benefits I could get to my productivity and enjoyment of my job by replacing the $20 ACER membrane keyboard I have in the office with something more suited to my needs.

So, here I am. Making my foray into what feels like the real heart of the custom keyboard community (r/mk feels - to me at least - like the very pretty/memey surface layer), in the hopes that I can foster my current curiosity into some actual knowledge or a real hobby, and hell, maybe even a side-hustle of some sort. Custom keyboards, to me, feel like a perfect mesh of my interests: mechanical and technical stuff, as well as pretty aesthetic plastic things that go click-clack and cost WAY too much money.

Aside from keebs, my hobbies and interests include a reasonable reduced amount of video gaming, Dungeons and Dragons and/or board games with friends (math rocks go click-clack too  ;D ), and Taekwon-do. I have a pet cat and a pet bird and a pet boyfriend. Yeah.

Looking forward to learning ALL the things and hopefully making some cool friends along the way.

P.S. Current keyboard is a Logitech G512 with MX Browns. Don't kill me. We all have to start somewhere.

Offline suicidal_orange