Author Topic: Best color scheme for keycap readability?  (Read 2465 times)

Offline Rayndalf

Best color scheme for keycap readability?
« on: Thu, 28 January 2021, 19:24:23 »
I have a pretty terrible idea brewing and I'm curious, does anyone have any idea what keycap color schemes are most readable/accessible?

From what I understand various IDE colorschemes have transitioned to keysets well, but are those colorschemes actually easier to read than black on white?

If I wanted to make a set of keycaps for people with vision impairments or disabilities, would color coding certain keys (like Handerbeit or keyboards marketed for young children) help?

Offline fpazos

Re: Best color scheme for keycap readability?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 29 January 2021, 02:39:25 »
Usually. The best readable combination is black on Yellow, that's why most danger signs have this combination. If I remember ok from when I studied graphic design, others bright colors works well too. I made a high readability set having my mom in mind but I messed it with crazy novelties hahahaha

You can see how the alphas pop out compared to other keys.

Offline Rayndalf

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 11 February 2021, 00:46:31 »
Usually. The best readable combination is black on Yellow, that's why most danger signs have this combination. If I remember ok from when I studied graphic design, others bright colors works well too. I made a high readability set having my mom in mind but I messed it with crazy novelties hahahaha
Show Image

You can see how the alphas pop out compared to other keys.

Interesting. Do you find the contrast between alphas and numrow/punctuation and the modifiers makes typing easier?