Author Topic: Question regarding HHKB  (Read 1890 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SSIPAK

  • * Maker
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 449
  • ★ Bootlegcaps ★
Question regarding HHKB
« on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 18:12:26 »
Hey guys,

I wanted to ask, what does the key next to alt do?

thanks

Offline daerid

  • Posts: 4276
  • Location: Denver, CO
    • Rossipedia
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 18:46:50 »
That's generally called a "Meta" key. In Windows, it is the Windows key. In OSX it's the Command key. In Linux it's the Super key.

Offline swornxin

  • Posts: 243
  • Location: Burlington
    • Nailed Down Custom Pins
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 19:04:27 »
Thank you, I was wondering this too.  Considering picking one up at Elite Keyboards when I'm in California next week.

Octagon - 62g Cherry tactile greys
Phantom - 65g Cherry tactile greys
FC660M - Cherry blues
KC60 - Gateron browns

Offline neunelfer

  • HHKB Pro
  • Posts: 427
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 19:14:50 »
One thing to note is that when the dip switches are set up for HHKB mode, it does nothing. They have to be in Lite or Mac mode in order for it to function.

Offline riotonthebay

  • Cherry Peasant
  • * Destiny Supporter
  • Posts: 2048
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • keycult.com
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 19:28:07 »

One thing to note is that when the dip switches are set up for HHKB mode, it does nothing. They have to be in Lite or Mac mode in order for it to function.

Are you sure about that? That doesn't make a lot of sense. Have you looked at what key code is being sent when in HHKB mode? (I'll do this later myself, but don't have time at the moment.)

Offline ComradeSniper

  • HHKB Pro
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 1086
  • Location: Montana
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 19:29:14 »

One thing to note is that when the dip switches are set up for HHKB mode, it does nothing. They have to be in Lite or Mac mode in order for it to function.

Are you sure about that? That doesn't make a lot of sense. Have you looked at what key code is being sent when in HHKB mode? (I'll do this later myself, but don't have time at the moment.)

It does send a key code in HHKB mode--I use mine as a push to talk key.  Doesn't function as a meta key though.

Offline riotonthebay

  • Cherry Peasant
  • * Destiny Supporter
  • Posts: 2048
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • keycult.com
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #6 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 19:31:24 »


One thing to note is that when the dip switches are set up for HHKB mode, it does nothing. They have to be in Lite or Mac mode in order for it to function.

Are you sure about that? That doesn't make a lot of sense. Have you looked at what key code is being sent when in HHKB mode? (I'll do this later myself, but don't have time at the moment.)

It does send a key code in HHKB mode--I use mine as a push to talk key.  Doesn't function as a meta key though.

Thanks for the clarification :thumb:

Offline SSIPAK

  • * Maker
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 449
  • ★ Bootlegcaps ★
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #7 on: Tue, 13 May 2014, 20:50:52 »
Thanks for all your help, I got it all figured out.
Btw which mode are you guys using for windows 8? I left mine on Lite mode.
« Last Edit: Tue, 13 May 2014, 20:54:38 by SSIPAK »

Offline daerid

  • Posts: 4276
  • Location: Denver, CO
    • Rossipedia
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 14 May 2014, 00:49:58 »
When I had my HHKB, I always kept it in Mac mode, regardless of OS

Offline VilaBobz

  • Posts: 5
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #9 on: Sat, 24 May 2014, 16:54:17 »
It's the meta key

Offline Smasher816

  • HHKB Master
  • Posts: 538
  • Location: return STATE_MISSOURI;
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #10 on: Sat, 24 May 2014, 19:58:23 »
When I had my HHKB, I always kept it in Mac mode, regardless of OS

I have been running my hhkb in Mac mode even though I am on Linux (I figured they were both unix based). Without the switch set it does send a keycode but it is not the windows (or super) key. If I remember right it was reported as "Kana" or some other Japanese related key. I could check but I really don't want to open this thing back up again and install the stock controller, lol.

Offline RESPRiT

  • Posts: 414
  • Location: Seattle
  • HHKB = ❤
Re: Question regarding HHKB
« Reply #11 on: Sun, 25 May 2014, 00:34:01 »
When I had my HHKB, I always kept it in Mac mode, regardless of OS

I have been running my hhkb in Mac mode even though I am on Linux (I figured they were both unix based). Without the switch set it does send a keycode but it is not the windows (or super) key. If I remember right it was reported as "Kana" or some other Japanese related key. I could check but I really don't want to open this thing back up again and install the stock controller, lol.
[/quote

If it sent a Japanese key, is it possible that even a non-JIS HHKB could be used for typing in Japanese? I'm completely unfamiliar with Japanese typing and stuff, but I wonder if it's somewhat of a feature given that it's a Japanese product.
;)