Author Topic: Soldering Zeal Switches  (Read 2309 times)

Offline HotRoderX

Soldering Zeal Switches
« on: Sat, 10 February 2018, 15:30:31 »
I need a bit of advice is there any do's or do not's to soldering zeal clear bottom switches? I have heard they are easier to damage then the other options. These are going on a Nerd 60 PCB and I am still a pretty big novice when it comes to soldering. This is the PCB in question https://1upkeyboards.com/gon-nerd60-black-gold-1up-pcb.html. I figured I use the Zeals cause I got them laying around and why not. I also have a set of Pro Purple switches I could use if that be a better option. I know this builds been a on going project since like October where nothing has gone smoothly.

Another question I ask in the same thread is... any advice on soldering LED's? I was going to soldier the switches now then do the LED's down the road in a month are so. Once I decided what keyset I want to use.

Right now i am between getting JTK White on Purple, EnjoyPBT Black/Purple or JTK Toxic.

Offline rich1051414

Re: Soldering Zeal Switches
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 10 February 2018, 19:33:20 »
If you sit there with soldering iron on the legs too long, you will melt the bottom of the case where the legs poke through.

Personally, I have never had this issue, but I have seen a lot of pics of switches pulled with melted plastic around the legs. I guess these people may have problems with zeal switches. When soldering, just move at a consistent and brisk pace with a decent iron that can hold it's temp, and you should be fine.
Siig Minitouch with Orange Alps, Whitefox 60% Zealios 67g, Realforce 87U 55g Topre, LFK SMK/Alps TKL With SMK 2nd Gen Cherry MX mount switches, NEC APC-H412 NEC Blue Ovals, Unicomp Model-M Spacesaver, XMIT Hall Effect, WASD Code Cherry MX Clear, KBDFans75 Lubed Gateron Greens, Azio MGK L80 Kailh Brown, XD84 Pale Blue Box Kailh, NIB Pingmaster TMK Converted, KPrepublic XD96 Blue aluminum case with Jade Box Kailh

Offline kmba