Author Topic: My first Alps custom board  (Read 1972 times)

Offline winteralfs

My first Alps custom board
« on: Mon, 27 July 2020, 14:29:21 »
I am building my first alps board. I am still learning and want to make sure I am purchasing the correct components.  I have an old Apple iiGS board with orange alp switches.  I plan on removing the switches from this old Apple board and repurpose them in a new 60% board. This is what I was going to order from Krepublilc:

How do you feel about these parts, and I am ordering the correct things? I was also looking at the alps PCB at LFKeyboards, which is twice the price of the one at Krepublics.  Thanks for any and all advice.

I should also mention that I plan on using the original GS keycaps, the tophat ones.

Chris
« Last Edit: Mon, 27 July 2020, 14:30:58 by winteralfs »

Offline Findecanor

Re: My first Alps custom board
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 27 July 2020, 15:11:58 »
Welcome to Geekhack! I'm afraid that plan won't work ...

The Apple Desktop Bus keyboard (M0330) from the Apple IIGS has a special layout which is actually ½ key-unit smaller than a regular 60%. It also has a contoured curve to the keycaps that matches that case especially and the top row has the key stems (and switches) rotated 90° to other rows. The L-shaped Return key is also in a shape that is quite uncommon these days. (here's a picture of a keyboard that has been stripped.)

This means that the keycaps won't fit parts made for the regular 60% form factor. You would have to get some other keycaps to fit those parts you've been planning to buy.

There have been a couple of PCB projects that might have suited those keycaps though:
* ASK55 seems to have been available, but is no more.
* Alps64 Mini is an available PCB design (on Github, would have to be fabricated), but progress seems to have halted.
Also: The Golden Delicious is full replacement for the M0116/M0118 PCBs, but there is info on the IIgs board or smaller option though.