Author Topic: Newb question about PBT  (Read 2930 times)

Offline bisl

Newb question about PBT
« on: Tue, 14 August 2012, 01:51:51 »
I've got a question that should be easily answerable for anyone who's actually owned PBT caps. I'm new to GH and so the furthest I've ventured into keyboard enthusiasm is buying a Das Keyboard with browns. Over time, the keycaps have worn down and they feel quite disgusting when I type on them--it's sort of a drag because no matter how clean my hands are, and how much I wipe them down, they always feel like I've eaten a million cheetos or something the second I begin to type.

Now I see that people really love PBT caps, but I'm wondering: why? What do they afford that normal (actually, what are the alternatives to PBT, anyway) keycaps don't? I'm hoping to hear that PBT is like the titanium of plastics and won't wear down in ten lifetimes, or something along those lines, but any input would be appreciated. Why are PBTs worth buying?

Thanks!

Offline hashbaz

• Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
Re: Newb question about PBT
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 14 August 2012, 02:00:47 »
PBT keycaps last much longer than ABS keycaps (like the ones on your Das), and also feel different (better, according to most).  They can also be more readily dyed.

Offline hazeluff

• * Vendor
  • 光復香港
    • Hazeluff
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 14 August 2012, 03:20:48 »
Main benefit is the it lasting much longer. It's feel is subjective (I don't see a difference).
Fight For Freedom. Stand with Hong Kongers

Offline Harlequin

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 14 August 2012, 10:04:32 »
PBT can also have dyesub letter printing which last longer than other printing methods such as silk or laser.

DK Saver Winkeyless | Leopold FC700R | Ducky DK9087 Shine 2

Offline Okita

« Reply #4 on: Sun, 19 August 2012, 18:36:07 »