Author Topic: Saitek Eclipse to FIlco Questions  (Read 4047 times)

Offline Snoox

Saitek Eclipse to FIlco Questions
« on: Fri, 06 November 2009, 14:31:42 »
Hey guys, I'm new to mechanical keyboards.. the only time I've used them was back in high school where there were a few IBM keyboards scattered in the library.

I've decided to make the jump to a Filco board but my brain is about to explode trying to make the choice between the Cherry brown switches or the black ones.  I'll be using the keyboard for mostly for gaming with a modest amount of typing.  I've been reading around the forums trying to get a good idea of what each switch would feel like, but its tough since I don't have a mechanical keyboard to compare with.

So right now I have a Saitek Eclipse keyboard, and want some opinions on people who've tried this and the cherry brown black switches.  Mainly all I want to know is how firm/light are the switches, and how deep do the buttons go, all relative to the eclipse.  I've heard that the black ones are very firm, and require much more force to press, which is alright but might give my pinky a little trouble.  Thanks for the help :smile:

Offline AndrewZorn

« Reply #1 on: Fri, 06 November 2009, 14:37:25 »
brown is the closer to the feel of rubber dome, but obviously better

ive never used one, but the black switches get a horrible rep when used for anything BUT gaming,
and in all my question asking and searching, similarly with other people, the consensus seems to be that brown CAN work for both typing and gaming, but black really cannot

i think if you are pleased with the required pressure for the eclipse, brown is a good place to start
especially if you still think you are only going to buy ONE

Offline timw4mail

• https://timshomepage.net
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 06 November 2009, 14:41:15 »
Quote from: AndrewZorn;130731
especially if you still think you are only going to buy ONE

Hurry, and leave while you still can! Because ^ never happens.