Author Topic: Custom TKL or 90% keyboard parts  (Read 4064 times)

Offline bmilcs

• bryan | bmilcs
    • bmilcs world
Custom TKL or 90% keyboard parts
« on: Wed, 17 August 2016, 16:57:33 »
I just sold some stuff and came up with a good budget for building a proper custom board.

Ideally, I would like to build a 90% board but I can't for the life of me find a 90% case. The Phantom PCB seems like it'd be perfect for this project, as it's readily available and works well with AVR.

What I mean by 90%, assuming that's the correct term is:

TKL, but with the space between the arrows and pg up down del ins, etc. filled in with an additional 5 keys. Traditionally it would be a number pad, which I would like to have available via a function key.

I love the Tex TKL cases but again, I can't find one with an entirely bored out right side.

Can anyone help me out here? I have a lot of experience modding keyboards, lubing, soldering, spring swaps, etc. so that won't be an issue.

This is a picture of what I'm looking to do.
Also, is there a better option for PCB's? I know that the Phantom is popular and for good reason.

Thanks
Bryan

TGR.JANE.V2 #40/40 <3 // TOKYO60 #1 // KBD75  #1 #2 #3 #4 // ES87  #1 #2 #3 #4 #5
INCOMPLETE  Duck Orion v3, 2 pcb black on black (might sell, pm me)  | SOUTHPAW.65

Offline Dihedral

• Mostly Harmless
Re: Custom TKL or 90% keyboard parts
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 17 August 2016, 17:00:22 »
Have you looked at the Lightsaver? I think it's a great looking and functional MTK board

Offline duynguyenle

• Personal text? What personal text???
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 17 August 2016, 17:29:42 »
Have you looked at the Lightsaver? I think it's a great looking and functional MTK board

You've got a couple of options on the market. Off-the-shelf there's the CM Quickfire TK and Masterkeys Pro M. They both pretty much have the exact layout you want.