Author Topic: Hi There!  (Read 1571 times)

Offline dr_habu

Hi There!
« on: Wed, 21 October 2015, 20:28:02 »
Hi!

I currently have a Cherry Stream XT keyboard. I've been using it for the last 3 years or so, but I decided to get a mechanical keyboard now.
I did my research, but I'm still not entirely sure which keyboard to get. Maybe I should build my own? Maybe get something that's readily available and customize it, or maybe try to get that one keyboard that seems perfect, but seems to be impossible to buy these days?

I'm sure this is the best place to find answers to all those questions!

Thanks for having me here!
 ;D
« Last Edit: Thu, 22 October 2015, 12:27:54 by dr_habu »

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Hi There!
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 24 October 2015, 23:01:50 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

Buying something "readily" available and customising it is probably better (having glanced at your linked thread), but make sure you get a keyboard with a standard layout, otherwise you'll find that most keycap sets won't fit.
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada