Author Topic: Sculpting Keycaps - :~$ynth & Green Stuff  (Read 10201 times)

Offline kenji

• one day at a time
Sculpting Keycaps - :~$ynth & Green Stuff
« on: Fri, 17 November 2017, 01:24:27 »
Hey All,

I have been really grateful to receive help from community posts, so I want to journal my progress learning to make key caps and hopefully help others along the way too. This post is going to be on what I’ve learned sculpting a key cap with Kneadatite "Green Stuff" using a ~:$ynth as a base as well as my attempts to cast them into functional key caps.

Without further ado, I am proud to share my first cap! Introducing,

The Tiki

182383-0

Here’s a list of the materials I used to make The Tiki:
(I am still learning what works best, so this list will continue to update.)

Materials:

Sculpting Medium
  • Kneadatite (“Green Stuff”)
182964-1

Tools
  • X-ACTO Knife
       -My go-to tool hands down. Great for making small details and cutting the Green Stuff
  • Dental Wax Carving Set
       -Really good place to start to see what tools work for making details. The most useful I find are the needle tip and small rounded spoon tools
  • Rubber Smoothing Tools
       -Not 100% necessary since Green Stuff is already smooth and holds its form very well, but still useful
182962-2

Base
  • Blank keycap or ~:$ynth ($ynth)   
       -Really anything will do - a plank of wood, a sheet of metal, whatever forms a flat platform

Miscellaneous
  • Impermeable gloves
       -Per the manufacturer’s recommendations, use impermeable gloves when handling the uncured material to protect your skin from damage
  • Water/Cooking Oil
       -Lubricant to prevent Green Stuff from sticking
  • Brush/Paper towel to apply water/oil

Green Stuff - General Overview.