geekhack Community > Ergonomics

Need New Ergo Keyboard (for Programmer)

(1/7) > >>

CaptainKirk:
I have been using a Datadesk SmartBoard ( http://www.datadesktech.com/desktop_base.html ) for some years now and it's beginning to fail (keys are sticking a bit). It is better than my old MS Ergo piece of junk, but I am not in love with this keyboard. Not all, in fact.

I am a programmer and I type fast. This keyboard, however, has hard-to-press keys I think, and home/end/pgup/pddown are on top of the numeric keypad which means they're hard to reach--and I like using those keys. :(

So I've been looking at the Kinesis Maxim and the Goldtouch Adjustable Keyboard. I also looked at the Kinesis Advantage (contoured keyboard) and while it looks VERY interesting, I am not sure if I want to invest $300. Partly because I live overseas (Israel) and I have someone coming to visit this month from the USA who could bring a keyboard, but if there's a problem, returning it would be a pain.

Anyhow it seems like one of these split keyboards should be better than what I have. I suppose I would also then need a numeric keyboard as I also use that. Probably that I could find cheaper than what Kinesis or Goldtouch sells them for however. :)

I use Linux but I presume/hope that I can find drivers for these keyboards. I presume actually that standard drivers should work--I don't need anything special in particular.

So, any suggestions or advice for a new keyboard?

Thanks.

keyb_gr:
You typically don't need special drivers for keyboards. Certainly not for PS/2, and USB 'boards usually are plain ol' HID devices as well.

As for the Kinesis Maxim, try looking around for a Siemens / Fujitsu-Siemens / Fujitsu KBPC E in ol' Europe, maybe a UK layout. That may be quite a bit cheaper provided you don't mind an ISO layout (here in Germany they are €50 or thereabouts).