Author Topic: Can you recommend me a clicky switch?  (Read 1836 times)

Offline Blitzschnitzel

Can you recommend me a clicky switch?
« on: Mon, 10 September 2018, 15:52:29 »
Hi, I’ve been using the same Cherry rubber dome keyboard for more than 10 years now and I want to finally upgrade to a self-built mechanical keyboard.
So, I got myself one of those Cherry key assortments … and I am kind of underwhelmed. The break point of the blue switches is far superior to the rubber domes but they also fell kind of rattly and hollow. Since the stem of the rubber dome keys is just a tube inside a tube they feel much better guided and they bottom out nice and cushy.
Is there a switch which combines a clear break with a sturdy feel and soft landing?

Offline abrahamstechnology

Re: Can you recommend me a clicky switch?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 10 September 2018, 16:18:00 »
I'd recommend Box switches (comes in 4 different clicky flavors) or Matias Click switches. Matias also makes dampened tactile switches that don't click, but supposedly have a softer bottom out.

Offline Kevadu

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 10 September 2018, 16:29:18 »
Cherry clicky (and tactile...and linear for that matter) switches have always been kind of mediocre.  They 'won' the mechanical switch war by default only because all the other mechanical switch makers saw mechanical keyboards as a dying market and got out.  Now that mechanical switches are back 'in' people have attached some sort of prestige to 'genuine Cherry' switches that they frankly don't deserve.