Author Topic: "Intecolor keyboards", or, an Unexpected Tension between Communities  (Read 1208 times)

Offline wmcbrine

Over on vcfed.org, I was surprised to read a post that began "So I bought this with the intent of keeping it out of the hands of the keyboard people." Ouch. I'm pretty new to both of these forums, and I hope I'm not expected to choose sides. I'm more of a vintage computer guy myself, if anything; but of course, I recognize that the main part of (some) old computers that's still useful for anything beyond nostalgia is... the keyboard.

Anyway, I hadn't heard of the Intecolor, and wondered what would make it interesting to "the keyboard people". Check it out:

The Compucolor 8001 keyboard, from Collimation, Inc., is very unique. It does not have any mechanical contact or switches to wear out or get dirty. The keys are all optically-encoded - they move coded masks which either pass on interrupt light beams emanating from light emitting diodes (LEDs) at one end of the keyboard, and detected by an array of photo-diodes at the other end.
-- https://oldcomputers.net/compucolor-8001.html

Offline yui

Re: "Intecolor keyboards", or, an Unexpected Tension between Communities
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 14 January 2020, 05:28:16 »
I guess the guy fear of the keyswitch/keycap collector who would detroy the keyboard to get one switch, or the keycaps (peoples like old timey multicolored keycaps), depending on the price of the board, those peoples are most likely rare, the most likely was that he would have been sold to someone who would have not done much with it.
Or he might know someone with the machine that this should plug into (given the size of those cables not a modern PC) and wanted one for a while. those are only guesses only the guy you quote know for sure what he feared for this keyboard.
vi vi vi - the roman number of the beast (Plan9 fortune)

Offline Sup

• * Exquisite Elder
  • Doing university was a mistake