Author Topic: 1st Mech keyboard (switch and keyboard choice)  (Read 3648 times)

Offline limecore

1st Mech keyboard (switch and keyboard choice)
« on: Sat, 14 June 2014, 21:24:43 »
I have never used a mechanical keyboard before, and need some advice on keyboard choice. I rarely game (maybe 10-15% of computer use), but need to be able to use the keyboard at night without waking people in the next room.

First: Switch choice. The only switches I have really seen for sale here in Australia are cherry switches (only red, blue, brown and black), and can't find them in store anywhere to try them out. I have heard that the brown switches aren't tactile enough and are too easy to bottom out, while the blues are too loud and the clears, which are a middle ground, are impossible to find. Are any of these assumptions wrong, or are there any other brand of switch that might work for me (for less than $200 inc postage)

Secondly: keyboard choice. If I was to get a standard cherry switch keyboard, I am looking at the ducky keyboards for sale at http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=113_1361&zenid=0febf5d74a3bf00610d021c6b9eb17e2
Are ducky KBs decent quality, and are the backlights worth it, or are they a gimmick?

Sorry for the long rambling post, I just don't want to waste $150+ on a crap keyboard.

Give me enough coffee, and a computer to code on and I can program anything

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: 1st Mech keyboard (switch and keyboard choice)
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 14 June 2014, 21:29:53 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

PCCG is probably the biggest and cheapest mechanical keyboard vendor in Australia, and AFAIK the only Ducky authorised reseller (at least according to Ducky web site).

There is also http://www.mechkb.com/ who also stock Ducky, as well as some of the less common keyboards.