Author Topic: [IC] ErgoMax - a DIY split keyboard with room for activities  (Read 3398 times)

Offline Louwii

[IC] ErgoMax - a DIY split keyboard with room for activities
« on: Fri, 03 January 2020, 01:57:28 »
Hello guys

This is one of the first project I worked on and I always wondered if it would actually get some interest from the community, so here it is.

It started out of curiosity about split keyboards. I was really curious about trying out a split board while keeping almost a full layout. Because I'm one of those that don't like having to use a second and third layer to access all my keys.

While the Ergodox was almost fulfilling all that, it was also kind of expensive for something I wasn't sure I'd like. And it was missing the F row.

So, bored as I was during the rainy season of the Canadian west coast, I started learning and designing my own split keyboard, on a budget. Being a complete noob, I've cowardly took inspiration from the Ergodox itself.

Being on a budget means:
  • very simple PCB
  • solderable by hand
  • using cheap & widely available components

Being a newbie in the mech world, I considered using hotswap sockets so I could easily test whatever switches I wanted. I thought the extra cost was kind of worth it.

The ErgoMax

232970-0

So here it is, it's not beautiful, it's not high end, it's not very original. But it's practical, cheap and accessible to almost anybody.

The layout is the exact same as the Ergodox, except it has an extra F row. More room for activities, yay! I do understand it kind of goes against the concept of moving your fingers as little as possible while typing. But why not?

Name isn't the best. I've always been bad at naming stuff... But at least it's kind of coherent.

Key features:

• each side uses an Arduino Pro Micro
  • runs QMK firmware
  • uses TRRS cable to join the 2 sides (jack cable)
  • master/slave can be either side
  • both sides can be run independently (2 masters, no slave, requires 2 USB cables)