Author Topic: Vintage style keyboard kits similar-ish to Class80?  (Read 4139 times)

Offline hippo008

Vintage style keyboard kits similar-ish to Class80?
« on: Wed, 11 January 2023, 19:53:38 »
I am pretty bummed I missed out on the Class80 groupbuy as that board is an ideal board in my eyes. Its got the classic styling, interesting colors, high quality construction and size that I really enjoy. I am a systems administrator and I need the function row in my daily tasks so I prefer the TKL or 75% layouts. The Class80 ticks all the boxes and I just missed it. If anybody has one with a winkey in red or beige im a buyer  :cool:

What other classic styled keyboards are out there like that? The NCR-80 v3 seems like an OK option but thats a cheaper board. Theres some interesting 75% options on Amazon but I am not sure I trust the quality.

Thoughts?
« Last Edit: Wed, 11 January 2023, 20:01:59 by hippo008 »

Offline HungerMechanic

Re: Vintage style keyboard kits similar-ish to Class80?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 11 January 2023, 20:35:59 »
If only you could get away w/o function keys, the Command65 would be perfect:

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=112938.0

There were some plateless TKLs and suchlike styled in the classic Cherry format by JER. You can look into the JER-A06 and JER J80, although I'm not sure either of them are in current production.

The NCR-80 is a cheaper board, but it's good for some purposes. The case is really resonant for clicky switches, if you like those. It also functions okay as a silent board, if you fill it with the optional dampener. I also see people using it with classic linears like Cherry Blacks or super-smooth Tealios. Seems the plateless format is well adapted to that, according to some.

Offline hippo008

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 11 January 2023, 21:40:51 »
The Command65 is pretty nice. The Bluetooth option would be awesome. Too bad it didnt have the Function row or a metal body :(