Author Topic: Glorious Panda vs Boba UT4 - Worth the change?  (Read 2888 times)

Offline Praetor

Glorious Panda vs Boba UT4 - Worth the change?
« on: Wed, 13 September 2023, 03:43:33 »
I entered the customisation world when a couple of months ago I purchased a Keychron Q2. It came with Gateron Browns, but I changed the switches to pre-lubed Glorious Pandas and I 've been running this setup since.

Lately, I came across the Bobas and the thought of them got intrusive. So, I wanted to ask if anyone has any experience of both. Are Bobas that much better than the Glorious Pandas when it comes to tactility and thockiness? Should I get them unlubed or pre-lubed (they will cost me 2x the price, since I am not yet confident enough to do it myself)? Also, should I go with the UT4 or UT4x Bobas (I am concerned though by the fact that the latter come only in 65g weight)?

Mind you I prefer heavier switches (so, I have eyed the 68g Bobas) and I type for a living.

Of course, if you have to suggest some other switch that fits the criteria above (it is heavy or heavier than the Pandas, has a great tactile bump and is ideal for long typing sessions), I would love to hear what you suggest.

P.S.: Extra question. Do you have any advice on modding my Q2 to improve its thock sounds? As I mentioned above, I a total noob, so it should be something fairly simple and the material should be available in EU stores.

Offline Tribal

Re: Glorious Panda vs Boba UT4 - Worth the change?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 13 September 2023, 06:28:02 »
I went from unlubed Glorious Panda to lubed U4 silent (I’ve read that the tactile feel is the same).  The U4 is better, but a straight upgrade from lubed GPs to lubed U4Ts doesn’t seem like it would be worth it. 

Offline Praetor

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 13 September 2023, 08:15:14 »
Thank you for your answer.

So, you would recommend the Silent U4T rather than the "normal" ones? Why so?

Offline mohawk1367

• Typing on: HHKB Pro Hybrid Type-S