Author Topic: HHKB Lite 2 Questions  (Read 2186 times)

Offline cheebz

HHKB Lite 2 Questions
« on: Sun, 27 December 2009, 02:35:28 »
Hi guys I'm new here so don't troll me too hard

I've spent a few days browsing this forum looking for some opinions on the HHKB Lite 2.  Basically the consensus seems to be that it is an absolute piece of ****.  

Here's the bottom line.
I'm a programmer and I do alot of typing (touch-typist), but I never really have had what most of you would consider a quality keyboard.  I'm currently using one of those new scissor-switch aluminum apple wired keyboards (without numpad).  This thing feels like a godsend compared to what I was previously used to using (logitech $10 - $30 keyboards).

My question is despite the bad reviews this thing has garnered, is it better than what I'm using now or what I'm used to?  Will I notice a significant difference (that justifies spending the money) in typing comfort?

HHKB Pro 2 is absolutely out of the question.  I realize that it is a quality keyboard but I'm also a college student and well there's your answer.

Also I should note I use gnu+linux and I'm pretty fond of vim/emacs (layout on hhkb is great, even though it's possible to remap any keyboard the same way :p) so that is the main reason why i'm looking at this keyboard.

Offline Rajagra

HHKB Lite 2 Questions
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 27 December 2009, 05:29:20 »
:welcome: It isn't really *that* bad. You get tactile feedback from the rubber domes collapsing, and the keys register reliably on mine. I can make them fail by pressing them slowly until the dome just about collapses, but that doesn't happen during real typing. (Yet?)