Author Topic: First Keyboard Build. (with a couple pictures)(Phantom)  (Read 2289 times)

Offline Austinl08

First Keyboard Build. (with a couple pictures)(Phantom)
« on: Sat, 08 October 2016, 15:25:50 »
so i'm new to the keyboard enthusiast scene, and have decided to jump head first and build one for my first "custom" keyboard.

After a lot of looking and reading i decided to go with the phantom PCB mainly because of its easy availability, while also being easy to find.

The only reason i hesitated with the choice was because i was not sure if i wanted a back-lit board. after thinking about it, i barely look at my keyboard while typing anyways. Also being my first one to build i thought i would keep it a little bare.

After looking at different cases that the Phantom fit into i decided i definitely wanted an aluminum (or any metal) case for sure. i just really like metal over plastic in many of my other hobbies despite it being heavier it always seems more rugged and less flimsy than the plastics.

so with all that in mind the only readily available aluminum cases i could find (for any of the PCBs) was the TEX case for the Phantom board. this was the biggest factor into leading me towards my decision of the Phantom set up.

Keep in mind i am one of those people who thought the Razer Blackwidow Chroma was the best keyboard ever. :eek: :eek: :eek: (i know i know, shame me if you must.) that is until getting my hands on Cherry MX keys and really appreciating some of the custom builds i have seen through forums such as this one.

Well on to the pics and some of the steps of my experience with building my first keyboard from the PCB up.

I ordered the PCB kit from mechanicalkeyboards.com, added the aluminum plate, and some switches, but did not get the aluminum case at the same because will i thought it would take me a week or so to put all of this together and because will i'm married and yall know what that extra 150$ can get you into.