Author Topic: Grounding metal keyboard cases  (Read 3089 times)

Offline glibber

Grounding metal keyboard cases
« on: Wed, 31 March 2021, 07:33:03 »
Hi all,

I've dug up a few old threads about ESD and grounding cases, but I'm not really an expert with electronics and want to make sure I'm going right about grounding a metal case. From what I understand, the most important risk here is ESD that you introduce by touching the case finding a way to ground through other components, potentially damaging them. The way to circumvent that should be connecting the case to ground directly.

So here come some things I'm unsure with:
1. The plating on a PCB's mounting holes should be ground, right? So with a tray mount the case should be grounded via the standoffs.
2. I also often see dampening mods with rubber O-rings for tray mounts, basically sandwiching the PCB between two of those o-rings. Doesn't this include the risk of the case not being grounded (if the screws don't happen to touch the plating inside the holes)? Should you create an additional connection from ground to the case?
3. Do top/bottom/sandwich mounts make additional grounding necessary, e.g. by connecting the plate (if it's metal) to ground on the PCB?
4. Is it a good idea to ground a (metal) plate like that in general?

What do you think about these, are they right/wrong/utter nonsense?

Offline yui

Re: Grounding metal keyboard cases
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 31 March 2021, 07:55:33 »
really the likelihood of you killing the thing from static on the case is rather low, you would need a component right against the case.
and really you can't quite ground an anodized case, the aluminum oxide is a rather good insulator, and the case will often absorb the energy too, a large mass has some capacitance to air and ground.
TL;DR do not worry about it too much, as long as you do not have wireless inside grounding will not hurt anything, and lack thereof is also very unlikely to hurt anything