Author Topic: A new keyboard profile  (Read 1091 times)

Offline Ranger_Trivette

A new keyboard profile
« on: Tue, 18 May 2021, 05:03:22 »
is now a year since i started playing with keyboards. i'm definitely a noob.
but i spend 8 hours a day working with cad and sometimes my mind fly around.

i've always seen profile like this [A]:

-the top part is very easy. can be obtained from vertical milling machine (VMM).
you can create samples in your garage if you have one, it's really easy.
in the 99% of the keyboards i see, you don't even need to re-positioning (is expensive) the part and add external chamfer later.
(you can't add chamfer to the internal border, ok)

-the bottom part is similar to the other one.
you start from a block. you mill the interior (the lower plan can give you some troubles).
then you flip the components and add the inclined bottom.
not easy as the top part. but still an easy job. you don't even need a cnc machinery.

this is instead something that is going round and round in my head since a while [B.]:

-the top part looks now very complicated.
but is not. if you work with cnc machine, is pretty the same.
and today, if you want to be competitive, you have to.
you definitely need more time to program the travel of the toolings, but who cares?
if you buy 100+ pcs that time doesn't influence the cost.
-the bottom part become now easier.

what do you think?
does this design has some pro-cons?
is it good looking?
am i missing something?
why noone do that?
so many questions...

the only answer i have is this.
why? well you don't need a good reason to choose a different path.
and if you choose the wrong one you are still an explorer.

Offline yui

Re: A new keyboard profile
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 18 May 2021, 06:01:31 »