Author Topic: Do Gazzew Boba U4T Switches interfere with Cherry Profile Keycaps?  (Read 9567 times)

Offline NotSusKeebs

Hello fellow enthusiasts!
I am fairly new to the keyboard hobby, and I recently did a build that has North-Facing LEDs (bad move on my part, in my opinion), and was thinking about buying some new GPBT Keycaps from Glorious, but they are cherry profile. I’ve heard and seen that cherry profile keycaps interfere with the switch housing on north facing boards (row 2 I think) and was wondering if since the Boba U4T Switches don’t sit flush with the housing when bottomed out, do they still interfere? I heard from a source somewhere on YouTube that they don’t, but I’m not entirely sure. I want to be certain, as for this hobby is an expensive one, and I’m not exactly made of money. Thanks in advance for anyone who answers.
Have a great day!
NotSusKeebs
« Last Edit: Mon, 26 April 2021, 16:47:44 by NotSusKeebs »

Online HungerMechanic

Re: Do Gazzew Boba U4T Switches interfere with Cherry Profile Keycaps?
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 26 April 2021, 17:14:40 »
I don't know the whole story, but I have read that U4T stems inside Cherry housings do conflict with GMK keycaps.

I don't know if that applies to regular U4T Boba switches in North-facing LEDs, but there can be issues when putting them stems inside Cherry MX housings.

Offline NotSusKeebs

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 26 April 2021, 17:19:22 »
I don't know the whole story, but I have read that U4T stems inside Cherry housings do conflict with GMK keycaps.

I don't know if that applies to regular U4T Boba switches in North-facing LEDs, but there can be issues when putting them stems inside Cherry MX housings.

okay, good to know. i’ve heard that for some people, they are fine but for others there is interference. i am going to buy them, and if they dont work ill probably do another build. thank you!

Online HungerMechanic

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 26 April 2021, 20:02:37 »