Author Topic: A keyboard rookie says hello!  (Read 1640 times)

Offline Kilgore_t

A keyboard rookie says hello!
« on: Sat, 11 July 2020, 06:35:18 »
Hi,

I'm Alberto, writing for the sunny Barcelona. I'm a total beginner in this keyboard thing and this is briefly my story: After more than a decade of laptops I returned to having a desktop PC this past Chritmas. I started supercheap but for the last months I've been beefing my pc and setup till the past june when unavoidably I decided to buy a mechanical keyboard. Then I started to watch a lot of keyboard videos and channels to educate myself, only to ending buying a tenkeyless from fnatic becausa I was a little scared of 60%. However i was lost into the keyboard videos addiction and as watched more and more keyboards I was more and more unsatisfied with the ministreak I had, so I returned to amazon and got a second hand poker 2 instead.

I find the building and modding keyboard videos extremely satisfying and relaxing, and I think I will end building another one for myself sooner or later, so here I am after reading and listening geekhack is a great commynity where you have to be if are interested on mechanical keyboard. I hope my post isn't too long, but I'm wrting using mx blue and the sound is too much cool to stop tho.

Hi to everyone!
Keyboard Rookie

Offline funkmon

Re: A keyboard rookie says hello!
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 11 July 2020, 23:29:48 »
Awesome! Do you prefer the 60% layout? I tend to not, but I've been experimenting over time here with how small of a keyboard I can reasonably use and not want to off myself.

I have figured I don't need the function keys, just one or two, and I don't need the nav cluster. I do need the number pad. But then again, I can just use an external number pad. But then again again, why would I do that if I can have it in the keyboard, you know?

Offline Kilgore_t

Re: A keyboard rookie says hello!
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 12 July 2020, 01:30:12 »